miscellaneous

And that’s when my brain exploded

Well, this evening hasn’t turned out as planned. It all may be for the best, but WOW have I a lot to think about.

It started when I got home and found a message on my answering machine. It was from my surgeon. MY SURGEON. The one who will be operating on my knee in March. Doctors never call you themselves. Unless it’s really serious. As in the only other doctor to ever call directly was my late husband’s oncologist, and it was never good when he did.

So I called the number and got his answering machine, of course. I left my home number and my work number, figuring that it was after 5:30 p.m. and he wouldn’t call until sometime tomorrow.

HE CALLED BACK. AT 8:00 P.M. IT’S NIGHTTIME.

What doctor does that?

So, he wants to move my surgery from the Monday it is scheduled for to that Wednesday. ???? A reminder that he is discussing my TOTAL KNEE REPLACEMENT surgery. He is telling me that given my health, he would like to move my surgery to the surgery center. He continues on and on about reduced infection rates, a higher quality staff, better outcomes, yada yada yada. Then the light begins to dawn in my anxiety ridden brain.

OUTPATIENT SURGERY. HE WANTS MY TOTAL KNEE REPLACEMENT TO BE OUTPATIENT.

That’s when my brain exploded.

Apparently, I’m young and healthy enough (I did remind him then of my rheumatoid arthritis) to do it at the surgery center and go home that afternoon on a WALKER. Can you do that? Really? I’ve never heard of such a thing. You’re going to cut my knee out, stick in a titanium one , and send me HOME?????????

More explosions.

Doc is being very enthusiastic. Thinks the RA is nothing (HA). He’s been doing it this way for certain patients for three months now, and apparently has seen drastically improved outcomes. The infection risk is much lower, and he thinks the staff is better because their pay rates are higher so they stay longer. I will then start outpatient therapy the next day.

Outpatient knee replacement. Wow. I have a lot of thinking and praying to do this weekend.

Well off to do everything I haven’t done this evening while I pull my brain back together. Oh, and the number he gave me is his personal cell. I like this doc. You actually get to talk to him.

Hope y’all had a less exciting evening. Good night everyone!

 

5 thoughts on “And that’s when my brain exploded

  1. Eeeek! Lots to think about but only you will know what you will be capable of! Will there be an option of staying in the hospital if your not ready to go home after the operation?
    My mother-in-law has a replacement knee a couple of weeks ago. She stayed in for 3 days! Mainly because the anaesthetic hadn’t agreed with her and she couldn’t keep any food down :-/ As soon as she was home, she was given physio exercises and encouraged to keep moving! I don’t know if that helps with your decision 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I’m sure there’s always the option of an ambulance trip to the hospital if something goes hinky. Apparently he’s started doing this with younger patients, and getting them into outpatient PT the next day, which is tougher than the therapists that come to your home. Since they’re younger and healthier, they do better if they can be pushed really hard in the PT. (Oh, yippee.) I’ve talked with some friends, including my best friend the nurse, and after the initial surprise, they all think it’s a good idea.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

