random crafts

My First Trauma Surgery

While recovering from surgery, I was asked to perform emergency surgery. On this puppet. When you”ve served 15 years as a church puppet, you have a rough life.

IMG_20150331_180259~2~2

He is scheduled to perform at our church on Saturday, after the children’s Easter egg hunt. The assistant pastor asked me to repair him after she discovered the hand injury and a ruptured lip. Some one had also glued brown fabric circles onto his eyes as the pupils. This would not have been a problem, except they were two different sizes, which gave him a rather drunken, confused look. The above picture was taken after I had removed the mismatched pupils and fixed the lower lip.

Here he is after all his fixes. I don’t know who “repaired” his wrists with duct tape, but I was forced to replace it after stitching the hand back on, as the fabric is permanently discolored. I fixed the ruptured lower lip and the almost ruptured upper lip, so he’s not falling apart anymore. I also traced circles on his eyes and colored them in with a Sharpie. Now his eyes are the same size and they are both looking in the same direction!

IMG_20150401_171600~2lSo he’s ready to perform on Saturday! Yay!

4 thoughts on “My First Trauma Surgery

Leave a Reply

