blog · miscellaneous

Sorry about that

Ummm, wow, it’s been a year. Didn’t mean for that to happen. Life got a bit crazy, and then a lot busy, and umm, wow. Sorry.

No worries–no funerals or major illnesses. I think it started with the insurance battles. My company switched insurance plans last April. And in May I was informed I could not take one of my meds–I HAD to switch to an alternative (can’t afford out of pocket on it). And it had the unexpected side effect of slowly turning me into a zombie. Not depressed, not happy, not energetic, and it snuck up on me. Which led to trying to get back to see the doctor, and another round of insurance battles. For what it is worth, I was forced to switch three of my meds total, and they tried to force a fourth (that one turned out to be a computer error on their part). So a good part of last summer and fall was spent on the phone with insurance types.

And in the middle of this, Legs informs me he is unhappy with his university’s computer science program and he decides to transfer to another, smaller state university that has a comp sci program more suited to his interests. And that means massive paperwork and reshuffling of summer plans, while rehabbing my new knee. Which is doing fabulous, thank you very much!

Oh, and his new university does NOT offer student health insurance. So I had to put him on my company’s plan in August. Which broke the insurance company’s brain, again, and led to massive problems in determine the new deductible. Last year they had sooo many problems, I actually paid the single employee’s deductible FOUR times. FOUR TIMES. Yes, they reimbursed me correctly in the end, but it was a paperwork and phone calling nightmare. If anyone needs info on navigating insurance paperwork, I am the official expert. (So starting in January, I put him on his own private plan. And my company provided insurance messed up MY prescription coverage, AGAIN.)

I also stopped blogging last summer because with the weird medicine issue (all good now), I wasn’t doing any kind of needlework, art, or craft. And then when I felt better, I was so behind on household chores and stuff, and the university transfer required paperwork right up to move-in, and so forth and so on….

I am crocheting again, well, more often. And Legs is home for the summer, although that also means the grocery bill is escalating. And to end on a happy note, and with a picture…zoom zoom!

New car

I finally retired the mini-van I’ve driven for 16 years. I kinda had to, when my favorite and trusted mechanic called me (back in March) while the van was in for a checkup and wanted to know just how much money did I want to put into a 1999 van? (Answer: Not the amount he quoted me.) I decided it was time for a new, and smaller, ride. And I found this navy blue, used 2016 Mazda CX-5 Sport. Yep, I was thrilled and blessed to find a used car that is less than a year old and has less than 5,000 miles on it.It even smells new, and my fav mechanic has blessed it after giving a thorough looking over. I’m a bit proud of myself, as this is the first time I’ve bought a car all by myself.

It’s good to be back.

2 thoughts on “Sorry about that

    1. Hey, nice to see you’re still here. Yep, everything’s okay, just when I get sidetracked, I don’t just go off the rails, I then go through the woods, down the mountain, and right up the creek! LOL

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

